Contact Us: 866.479.6828

Leadership & Governance


The NBOME is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of osteopathic physicians and public members. Board members are elected based on experience and expertise in clinical disciplines, medical education and assessment, and medical or regulatory administrative experience reflective of the needs of the public.

Executive Committee of the Board
Richard J. LaBaere II

Richard J. LaBaere II, DO, MPH, FAODME

Ortonville, Michigan
Board Chair

Lori A. Kemper

Lori A. Kemper, DO, MS, FACOFP

Glendale, Arizona
Board Vice-Chair

John L. Goudreau

John L. Goudreau, DO, PhD

East Lansing, Michigan
Board Secretary-Treasurer

Geraldine T. O’Shea

Geraldine T. O’Shea, DO

Jackson, California
Immediate Past Chair

David Kuo

David Kuo, DO

Blue Bell, Pennsylvania

Elizabeth McMurtry

Elizabeth McMurtry, DO

Walla Walla, Washington

Richard A. Ortoski

Richard A. Ortoski, DO

Erie, Pennsylvania


Board of Directors
Juan F. Acosta, DO, MS

Juan F. Acosta, DO, MS

Smithtown, New York

Peter Ajluni

Peter B. Ajluni, DO

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Sheri L. Clarke

Sheri L. Clarke, PhD, C-TAGME

East Lansing, Michigan

David A. Forstein

David A. Forstein, DO

Parker, Colorado

Brian A. Kessler, DO, FACOFP

Brian A. Kessler DO, FACOFP

Fuquay Varina, North Carolina

Brookshield Laurent, DO

Brookshield Laurent, DO

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Jed G. Magen

Jed G. Magen, DO, MS

East Lansing, Michigan

Tracy O. Middleton, DO, FACOFP

Tracy O. Middleton, DO, FACOFP

Glendale, Arizona

Michael F. Oliverio, DO

Michael F. Oliverio, DO

North Bellmore, New York

Robert G. G. Piccinini, DO

Robert G. G. Piccinini, DO

Sterling Heights, Michigan

Donald H. Polk

Donald H. Polk, DO

Waynesboro, Tennessee

Mousumi Som

Mousumi Som, DO, MS

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Sajid A. Surve

Sajid A. Surve, DO

Flower Mound, Texas

Sherri L. Wise

Sherri L. Wise, CPA

Tulsa, Oklahoma


Executive Leadership

The Executive Leadership guides all facets of the organization to meet the vision, goals and objectives set out by the Board of Directors. Each member of our accomplished executive team brings expertise in their field to the day-to-day operations of the NBOME.

Executive Leadership Team

John R. Gimpel, DO, MEd

President & Chief Executive Officer

Allen P. Butler, PhD

Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Edward W. Conway, MBA

Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Mark S. Dawley, MBA

Vice President for Licensure Assessment Services

Joseph Flamini, MBA

Vice President for Administration

Marie R. Fleury, DO, MBA

Associate Vice President for Test Development

Carol A. Kozlowski, MS

Vice President for Human Resources & Chief Diversity Officer

Jinghua W. Liu, PhD, MBA, MEd

Vice President for Collaborative Assessment

Doug Murray, Esq

General Counsel

Jeanne M. Sandella, DO

Vice President for Professional Development Initiatives & Communications

Melissa D. Turner, MS

Vice President for Strategy & Quality Initiatives


In this section