Contact Us: 866.479.6828

Sydney Steele, JD Honored with NBOME’s Santucci Award

January 3, 2019

Philadelphia, PA. The National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) created their highest honor, the Santucci Award, to recognize an individual who has distinguished him or herself through sustained outstanding contributions to the NBOME, and its mission to protect the public by assessing competencies for osteopathic medicine and related health care professions. At its annual Board of Directors meeting on December 7th, the NBOME was honored to present the award to their long-time legal counsel, Sydney Steele, JD.

Recognized as a national authority on high stakes testing, Sydney L. Steele, JD, has been a crucial contributor to the NBOME for nearly 25 years. Steele has provided the NBOME legal guidance on test accommodations, contracts, negotiations and legal matters for nearly a third of the organization’s life span. He’s served as counsel to 12 NBOME Board Chairs throughout his service.

John R. Becher, DO, American Osteopathic Association (AOA) president from 2015-2016, and former NBOME board member, presented the award to Mr. Steele, commenting, “He’s been indispensable in contracts, negotiations, and all legal issues.” In summarizing Mr. Steele’s contributions, Frederick G. Meoli, DO, NBOME President and CEO from 1999-2009, noted “For me, it has been a personal and professional honor, privilege and pleasure to have known and worked with Syd.”

Mr. Steele is a graduate of Indiana University at Bloomington School of Law, and is licensed to practice law in Indiana, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals and the United States Supreme Court. He is highly active in his community, president and board member of the Columbia Club, Big Brothers of Central Indiana, and a board member and officer of the Center for Leadership Development, and co-founder of the Indianapolis Law Club.

The Santucci Award is named for Thomas F. Santucci, Jr., DO, president and chair of the NBOME Board from 1985 to 1987. This award is given annually to an individual for his or her sustained outstanding contributions to the mission of NBOME.