Contact Us: 866.479.6828

The NBOME honors J. Michael Wieting, DO, MEd, with NBOME Clark Award for Patient Advocacy

December 17, 2021

PHILADELPHIA, PA—The National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), an independent, nonprofit organization that provides competency assessments for osteopathic medical licensure and related health care professions, honored J. Michael Wieting, DO, MEd, with the 2021 NBOME Clark Award for Patient Advocacy at its annual Board of Directors Meeting on December 11.

The Clark Award recognizes those who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to patient safety, patient protection, and quality of care.

J. Michael Wieting, DO, MEd

Wieting currently serves on the Special Commission on Osteopathic Medical Licensure Assessment for the NBOME and is a member of the NBOME National Faculty, serving on the Test Accommodations and Liaison Committees as well as the COMAT FBS Body Systems Task Force.

He has served the osteopathic profession in numerous capacities, including in many positions with the American Association of Osteopathic Examiners, of which he is the immediate past president, the Advocates for the American Osteopathic Association, the American Osteopathic Association, and the Federation of State Medical Boards—among many others.
Wieting is currently senior associate dean at Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine in Harrogate, Tenn. and has been a dedicated educator and advocate for both patients and for the osteopathic profession for more than 30 years.

“Michael has been an incredible advocate for patient care and for the osteopathic profession throughout his career, which makes him the ideal recipient of this award,” said John R. Gimpel, DO, MEd, president and CEO of the NBOME.

Wieting received his osteopathic medicine degree from the Oklahoma State University – College of Osteopathic Medicine and his master’s in education from Central State University in Edmund, Okla.